CM loses in Jharkhand.

Published: January 8, 2009 - 17:54 Updated: January 13, 2009 - 15:10

Sandeep Kumar.

Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren lost Tamar assembly seat to Jharkhand Party candidate Gopal Krishna Patar by 8000 votes as the results of the by-poll elections were declared today.

Soren, who assumed charge as the chief minister of Jharkhand on August 27, 2008 required to be elected from the assembly within six months expiring by February 27,2009. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha leader had to face the ignominy as he will have to resign from the coveted post. The by-poll election for the Tamar assembly seat was held on January 3, 2009.

The Tamar assembly seat fell vacant after JD (U) legislature party leader Ramesh Singh Munda was gunned down by suspected Maoists on July 9, 2008. The victory at Tamar improvised the Jharkhand Party tally to two - the other member being the president of the party Enos Ekka. However, Ekka was sacked by the chief minister on December 18, 2008.

Whatever be the consequences, loss of CM at Tamar has certainly jolted his popularity and has definitely put a question mark on the ruling party.